A Place You Can Call Home

Flood Related Services

City of Baker Resiliency Plan

Floodplain Management
The following are the flood-related services that we provide:

  • Flood zone determinations
  • Information about flood risk
  • Information about flood insurance requirements
  • Consultation with citizens about flood-proofing techniques and reducing flood risk
  • Information on emergency preparedness


Flood Zone Determinations

Flood zone determinations provide your flood zone, Base Flood Elevations (BFEs), FIRM map panel number and record inundation.

To request a Flood Zone determination for your property:

Please provide the following information:

  • Address of property or subdivision and lot number
  • Contact information of person requesting the information
  • Email or physical address where the determination is to be sent.

Community Rating System (CRS)

The National Flood Insurance Program’s (NFIP) The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary program for communities participating in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The CRS offers flood insurance policy premium discounts in communities that develop and execute extra measures beyond minimum floodplain management requirements to provide protection from flooding.

Besides the benefit of reduced insurance rates, CRS floodplain management activities enhance public safety, reduce damages to property and public infrastructure, avoid economic disruption and losses, reduce human suffering, and protect the environment. Technical assistance on designing and implementing some activities is available at no charge. Participating in the CRS provides an incentive to maintaining and improving a community’s floodplain management program over the years. Implementing some CRS activities can help projects qualify for certain other Federal assistance programs.

The CRS recognizes measures for flood protection and flood loss reduction. The four main activity categories include Public Information, Mapping and Regulation, Flood Damage Reduction, and Flood Preparedness.

In order to participate in the CRS, a community must complete and submit an application to FEMA. Subsequently, FEMA reviews the community’s floodplain management efforts and assigns the appropriate CRS classification based on credit points earned for various activities. A community’s classification may change depending on the level of continued floodplain management efforts.  Classifications range from 1 to 10 and determine the premium discount

for eligible flood insurance policies (see Table 2 below). All community assignments begin at Class 10 with no premium discount. Communities with a Class 1 designation receive the maximum 45 percent premium discount.

Currently, the City of Baker has a rating of 9 and receives a 5% discount on flood insurance premium rates. A Class 9 rating means that over 500 policyholders in the City of Baker benefit from a reduction in annual flood insurance premiums.

Flood Awareness Facts are distributed to citizens throughout the year to lower costs associated with flood insurance rates, as well as inform property owners of potential flood hazards in our area.  The information includes flood safety awareness, flood insurance requirement information, property protection measures and other useful information.